2024 Oscar Nominations: ‘Oppenheimer’ and ‘Poor Things’ Lead This Year’s Picks

My, how much the race has evolved since the 96th Oscars nominations were announced January 23. We won’t say changed, since it seems like the certain sure bets at that time have become even surer bets. You all know “Oppenheimer,” long considered a frontrunner in many categories,” received the most nominations then with 13, followed by “Poor Things” with 11 and “Killers of the Flower Moon” with 10. Well, tonight, this evening of Sunday March 10 at the Dolby Theatre in Los Angeles at 7:00pm ET, we’re finally gonna see if what we all assume to be true is actually going to pan out: That “Oppenheimer” is teed up for a very big night, as IndieWire’s own Anne Thompson has predicted, with her final Oscar picks, herself.

“Oppenheimer” has won top honors at the Golden Globes, Critics Choice Awards, BAFTAs, and Screen Actors Guild Awards. Surely Oscars domination is next, right? Some interesting questions remain, though: Who will take Best Actress? Lily Gladstone seems to have all the momentum, but there’s still a possibility Emma Stone could be a contender. Cillian Murphy seems all but a lock to win Best Actor for “Oppenheimer,” and yet there’s still the slightest chance Paul Giamatti might grab the statuette.

More from IndieWire

Review the full list of Oscar nominees below, in advance of the ceremony tonight.

Best Picture

“American Fiction”
“Anatomy of a Fall”
“The Holdovers”
“Killers of the Flower Moon”
“Past Lives”
“Poor Things”
“The Zone of Interest”

Best Director

Jonathan Glazer (“The Zone of Interest”)
Yorgos Lanthimos (“Poor Things”)
Christopher Nolan (“Oppenheimer”)
Justine Triet (“Anatomy of a Fall”)
Martin Scorsese (“Killers of the Flower Moon”)

Best Actress

Annette Bening (“Nyad”)
Lily Gladstone (“Killers of the Flower Moon”)
Sandra Hüller (“Anatomy of a Fall”)
Carey Mulligan (“Maestro”)
Emma Stone (“Poor Things)

Best Actor

Bradley Cooper (“Maestro”)
Colman Domingo (“Rustin”)
Paul Giamatti (“The Holdovers”)
Cillian Murphy (“Oppenheimer”)
Jeffrey Wright (“American Fiction”)

Best Supporting Actor

Sterling K. Brown (“American Fiction”)
Robert De Niro (“Killers of the Flower Moon”)
Robert Downey, Jr. (“Oppenheimer”)
Ryan Gosling (“Barbie”)
Mark Ruffalo (“Poor Things”)

Best Supporting Actress

Emily Blunt (“Oppenheimer”)
Danielle Brooks (“The Color Purple”)
America Ferrera (“Barbie”)
Jodie Foster (“Nyad”)
Da’Vine Joy Randolph (“The Holdovers”)

Best International Feature Film

“Io Capitano” (Matteo Garrone, Italy)
“Society of the Snow” (J.A. Bayona, Spain)
“The Teachers’ Lounge” (İlker Çatak, Germany)
“The Zone of Interest” (Jonathan Glazer, United Kingdom)
“Perfect Days” (Wim Wenders, Japan)

Best Cinematography

Ed Lachman (“El Conde”)
Matthew Libatique (“Maestro”)
Rodrigo Prieto (“Killers of the Flower Moon”)
Robbie Ryan (“Poor Things”)
Hoyte van Hoytema (“Oppenheimer”)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Noah Baumbach and Greta Gerwig (“Barbie”)
Jonathan Glazer (“The Zone of Interest”)
Cord Jefferson (“American Fiction”)
Tony McNamara (“Poor Things”)
Christopher Nolan (“Oppenheimer)

Best Original Screenplay

Samy Burch and Alex Mechanik (“May December”)
Bradley Cooper and Josh Singer (“Maestro”)
Arthur Harari and Justine Triet (“Anatomy of a Fall”)
David Hemingson (“The Holdovers”)
Celine Song (“Past Lives”)

Best Animated Feature

“The Boy and the Heron” 
“Robot Dreams”
“Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse”

Best Visual Effects

“The Creator”; Jay Cooper, Ian Comley, Andrew Roberts and Neil Corbould
“Godzilla Minus One”; Takashi Yamazaki, Kiyoko Shibuya, Masaki Takahashi and Tatsuji Nojima
“Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3”; Theo Bialek, Stephanie Ceretti, Alexis Wajsbrot & Guy Williams
“Mission: Impossible – Dead Reckoning Part One”; Alex Wuttke, Simone Coco, Jeff Sutherland and Neil Corbould
“Napoleon”; Charley Henley, Luc-Ewen Martin-Fenouillet, Simone Coco and Neil Corbould

Best Editing

Jennifer Lame (“Oppenheimer”)
Yorgos Mavropsaridis (“Poor Things”)
Thelma Schoonmaker (“Killers of the Flower Moon”)
Laurent Sénéchal (“Anatomy of a Fall”)
Kevin Tent (“The Holdovers”)

Best Production Design

Ruth De Jong and Claire Kaufman (“Oppenheimer”)
Jack Fisk and Adam Willis (“Killers of the Flower Moon”)
Sarah Greenwood and Katie Spencer (“Barbie”)
Elli Griff and Arthur Max (“Napoleon”)
Shona Heath, Szusza Mihalek, and James Price (“Poor Things”)

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

Luisa Abel, Jason Hamer, Jaime Leigh McIntosh, and Ahou Mofid (“Oppenheimer”)
Mark Coulier, Nadia Stacey, and Josh Weston (“Poor Things”)
Kay Georgiou, Sian Grigg, Kazu Hiro, and Lori McCoy-Bell (“Maestro”)
Karen Hartley and Suzi Battersby (“Golda”)
Ana López-Puigcerver, Belén López-Puigcerver, David Martí, and Montse Ribé (“Society of the Snow”)

Best Costume Design

Jacqueline Durran (“Barbie”)
Ellen Mirojnick (“Oppenheimer”)
Holly Waddington (“Poor Things”)
Jacqueline West (“Killers of the Flower Moon”)
Janty Yates and David Crossman (“Napoleon”)

Best Sound

“The Creator”; Ian Voigt, Erik Aadahl, Ethan Van der Ryn, Tom Ozanich and Dean Zupancic
“Mission: Impossible — Dead Reckoning Part One”; Chris Munro, James H. Mather, Chris Burdon and Mark Taylor
“The Zone of Interest”; Johnnie Burn and Tarn Willers
“Oppenheimer”; Willie Burton, Richard King, Kevin O’Connell, and Gary A. Rizzo
“Maestro”; Richard King, Steve Morrow, Tom Ozanich, Jason Ruder, and Dean Zupancic

Best Documentary Feature

“Bobi Wine: The People’s President”
“The Eternal Memory”
“Four Daughters”
“To Kill a Tiger”
“20 Days in Mariupol”

Best Documentary Short Subject

“The ABCs of Book Banning”
“The Barber of Little Rock”
“Island in Between”
“The Last Repair Shop” 
“Nǎi Nai & Wài Pó”

Best Live Action Short

“The After” 
“Knight of Fortune” 
“Red, White and Blue”
“The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar”

Best Animated Short

“Letter to a Pig”
“Ninety-Five Senses”
“Our Uniform”
“War Is Over! Inspired by the Music of John & Yoko”

Best Original Song

“It Never Went Away”— Jon Batiste and Dan Wilson (“American Symphony”)
“What Was I Made For?”— Billie Eilish and Finneas (“Barbie”)
“Wahzhazhe (A Song for My People”—The Osage Tribe (“Killers of the Flower Moon”)
“I’m Just Ken”— Mark Ronson and Andrew Wyatt (“Barbie”)
“The Fire Inside”— Diane Warren (“Flamin’ Hot”)

Best Original Score

Jerskin Fendrix (“Poor Things”)
Ludwig Göransson (“Oppenheimer”)
Laura Karpman (“American Fiction”)
Robbie Robertson (“Killers of the Flower Moon”)
John Williams (“Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny”)

Best of IndieWire

Sign up for Indiewire's Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.