50th Student Academy Award Winners Revealed

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has announced the winners of the 50th Student Academy Awards competition. Of the total 2,443 entries from 720 colleges and universities around the world, the Student Academy Awards have chosen 14 student winners to participate in an in-person award ceremony on Tuesday, October 24, at 7:30 p.m., at the Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills. The medal placements — gold, silver and bronze — in the four award categories will be announced at the ceremony.

These 2023 honorees join the ranks of past Student Academy Award winners like Robert Zemeckis, Spike Lee, Patricia Riggen, Pete Docter, and Patricia Cardoso.

More from IndieWire

All Student Academy Award-winning films will be eligible to compete for the 2024 Oscars in the Animated Short Film, Live Action Short Film, or Documentary Short Film category. Past winners have gone on to receive 67 Oscar nominations — including Animated Short Film nominee “An Ostrich Told Me the World Is Fake and I Think I Believe It” this year — and have won or shared 12 Academy Awards.

The 50th Student Academy Awards ceremony on October 24 is free and open to the public, but advance tickets are required. Tickets are now available on the official Oscars website. The Samuel Goldwyn Theater is located at 8949 Wilshire Boulevard.

The Student Academy Awards were established in 1972 to provide a platform for emerging global talent by creating opportunities within the industry to showcase their work.

This year’s winners are (listed alphabetically by category):

Leo Behrens, “Skin,” American Film Institute

Gabriel Augerai, Romain Augier & Yannick Jacquin, “Boom,” École des Nouvelles Images, France
César Luton, Achille Pasquier & Clémence Bailly, “Diplomatie de l’Éclipse,” MoPA 3D Animation School, France
Lisa Kenney, “Mum’s Spaghetti,” National Film and Television School, United Kingdom

Lyuwei Chen, “Duet,” New York University
Jean Chapiro, “Hasta Encontrarlos (Till We Find Them),” Columbia University
Giorgio Ghiotto, “Wings of Dust,” New York University

Mark Gerstorfer, “Invisible Border,” Filmakademie Wien, Austria
Iain Aigin Stronach Forbes, “Revisited,” Den Norske Filmskolen, Norway
Tamara Denić, “Istina (Truth),” Hamburg Media School, Germany

First-time honors go to École des Nouvelles Images (France).

Best of IndieWire

Sign up for Indiewire's Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Click here to read the full article.