How to watch the entire MCU in the right order

Photo credit: Netflix/Digitalspy / Marvel Studios
Photo credit: Netflix/Digitalspy / Marvel Studios

From Digital Spy

Ten years ago there was no such thing as the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Just a not-very good Hulk movie. It wasn't until 2008 that Robert Downey Jr had the mother of all comebacks in Iron Man. And even with a post-credits tease featuring Samuel L Jackson's Nick Fury, we still didn't know that it would kickstart the most lucrative franchise in film history.

Fast-forward to 2017, and there have been 17 movies (with many still to come), six TV shows (with four to come), and several one-off movies, web series, comics and more.

But with all that magnificent geeky goodness, it can be pretty tough to keep on top of it all. And while you could make it easy by just watching them all in the order they were released, we can't help but turn the nerd factor up a notch: how do you watch them all in chronological order of when they were set?

Granted, certain films and TV episodes feature flashbacks (or contain two different time periods like the first Captain America), but for now we'll settle on the source material's major setting.

So, behold: the entire MCU in the "right" order:


  • 1. Captain America: The First Avenger

  • 2. Agent Carter (season 1)

  • 3. Agent Carter (season 2)

  • 4. Agent Carter (one-shot on Iron Man 3 DVD)

  • 5. Iron Man

  • 6. Iron Man 2

  • 7. The Incredible Hulk

  • 8. The Consultant (one-shot on the Thor DVD)

  • 9. A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to Thor's Hammer (one-shot on the Captain America: The First Avenger DVD)

  • 10. Thor

  • 11. Avengers Assemble

  • 12. Item 47 (one-shot on the Avengers Assemble DVD)

Photo credit: Marvel Studios
Photo credit: Marvel Studios


Photo credit: Disney
Photo credit: Disney


We'll keep updating this list once each new Marvel property is released, so keep checking back to make sure you're up to date.

Upcoming MCU projects (chronological order unknown):

  • Runaways (season 1) - November 21, 2017 (on Hulu)

  • Agents of SHIELD (season 5) - January 2018 (on ABC)

  • Black Panther - February 16, 2018

  • Avengers: Infinity War - May 4, 2018

  • Cloak and Dagger (season 1) - 2018 (on Freeform)

  • Ant Man and the Wasp - July 6, 2018

  • Jessica Jones (season 2) - 2018 (on Netflix)

  • Daredevil (season 3) - TBA (on Netflix)

  • Luke Cage (season 2) - TBA (on Netflix)

  • Iron Fist (season 2) - TBA (on Netflix)

  • Captain Marvel - March 8, 2019

  • Untitled Avengers film - May 3, 2019

  • Untitled Spider-Man sequel - July 5, 2019

  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3 - TBA

Want up-to-the-minute entertainment news and features? Just hit 'Like' on our Digital Spy Facebook page and 'Follow' on our @digitalspy Twitter account and you're all set.

You Might Also Like