BAFTAs 2020: EE Bafta Rising Star Award nominees announced

EE Rising Star nominees.

Golden Globe-winning The Farewell star Awkwafina and Blue Story's Micheal Ward have been included in a list of nominees for an award that recognises rising stars in the world of film.

Booksmart's Kaitlyn Dever, Fighting With My Family actor Jack Lowden and Kelvin Harrison Jr from the film Waves are also on the list for the EE Bafta Rising Star Award. Previous winners include James McAvoy, Kristen Stewart, Tom Hardy and Black Panther star Letitia Wright who won in 2019.

The winner will be selected by a public vote after being put forward by a jury featuring radio DJ Edith Bowman and actress Vanessa Kirby.

Revealed by actor Tom Hiddleston, broadcaster Edith Bowman and BAFTA Chief Executive Amanda Berry, the nominees consist of five actors and actresses who have “each shown truly outstanding talent on the big screen in the past year and captured the imagination of both the public and film industry”.

Read more: Graham Norton to host the BAFTAs

The accolade, which celebrates its 15th anniversary this year, is the only award at the Bafta film ceremony to be voted for by the public.

Awkwafina poses in the press room with the award for best performance by an actress in a motion picture, musical or comedy for "The Farewell" at the 77th annual Golden Globe Awards at the Beverly Hilton Hotel on Sunday, Jan. 5, 2020, in Beverly Hills, Calif. (AP Photo/Chris Pizzello)

Awkwafina, commenting on her nomination, said: “It’s truly an honour to be nominated for the EE Rising Star Award. I’m grateful to BAFTA and the jury for the nomination and that I am able to share this recognition with so many other talented actors and actresses.”

Actor Jack Lowden poses for photographs upon arrival at the Uk Premiere of the film, 'Fighting with my Family' at a central London cinema , Monday, Feb. 25, 2019. (Photo by Joel C Ryan/Invision/AP)

Jack Lowden said: “I would like to thank both BAFTA and the jury panel for nominating me for the 2020 EE Rising Star Award. It’s a huge honour to be included amongst such talent – what a way to kick off the year. Thank you!”

This Nov. 6, 2019 photo shows Kaitlyn Dever posing for a portrait in New York. Dever, the star of the Netflix series "Unbelievable," and the film "Booksmart," was named one of the breakthrough artists of the year by the Associated Press. (Photo by Taylor Jewell/Invision/AP)

Unbelievable star Kaitlyn Dever said: "I am overjoyed to be recognised by BAFTA and the jury as an EE Rising Star nominee. I am so excited to be acknowledged for an award that celebrates the achievements of young talent who are also contributing to film in an impactful way. It’s so incredible to be included in the group of talent nominated today as well as those recognised as an EE Rising Star over the years. It’s quite an honour and one that I won’t ever forget.” 

Kelvin Harrison Jr. attends the Independent Filmmaker Project's 29th annual IFP Gotham Awards at Cipriani Wall Street on Monday Dec. 2, 2019, in New York. (Photo by Evan Agostini/Invision/AP)

Kelvin Harrison Jr., commenting on his nomination, said: “For the last few years I’ve followed this award and the nominees have always been made up of artists whose work challenges me and inspires me. I feel honoured to be counted among them.” 

LONDON, ENGLAND - NOVEMBER 14: Micheal Ward attends the World Premiere of "Blue Story" at Curzon Cinema Mayfair on November 14, 2019 in London, England. (Photo by Tim P. Whitby/Getty Images for Paramount)

Blue Story star Micheal Ward, commenting on his nomination, said: “The last two years have been unbelievable, and now to find out that my industry has recognised my work and put me up for the EE Rising Star Award, really is the most amazing thing to happen.”

This year’s EE Rising Star Award jury panel were tasked with selecting the five nominees from a comprehensive list of talented actors and actresses. The jury was chaired by Andrew Orr, managing director of film production company Independent, and included actors Vanessa Kirby, Cynthia Erivo and Gemma Whelan, film broadcaster Edith Bowman, film critic Anna Smith, producers Uzma Hasan, Marc Samuelson and Georgina Lowe, casting directors Nina Gold and Lucy Bevan, and other leading film industry experts.

The nominations for the 2020 EE British Academy Film Awards will be announced on Tuesday, 7 January. The ceremony takes place on Sunday, 2 February, and will be hosted by Graham Norton.