Advertisement

The best book to screen adaptations to watch after Red, White and Royal Blue

From Heartstopper to The Princess Diaries, there have been several great book adaptations on the silver screen

Good book to screen adaptations can sometimes seem rare, but there are several worth watching like Heartstopper, Shadow and Bone and Love, SImon.
Good book to screen adaptations can sometimes seem rare, but there are several worth watching like Heartstopper, Shadow and Bone and Love, SImon.

The book to screen adaptation is something that readers both hope for and fear, will it be done well? Can it be adapted and who will the cast be the right fit?

Readers' desire to see their favourite book brought to life onscreen will often be high, but so is the likelihood of them using the phrase "the book was better" when they finally see the adaptation.

Read more: Red, White and Royal Blue review: LGBTQ+ rom-com is easy viewing

Red, White and Royal Blue is the latest book to screen adaptation to come to fruition, with the queer rom-com landing on Prime Video on Friday, 11 August and introducing the world to Alex Claremont-Diaz and Prince Henry's sweet romance.

But what about other book to screen adaptations out there? Here is Yahoo UK's guide to some of the films and shows that readers should look out for.

Heartstopper

Joe Locke and Kit Connor - Heartstopper S2. (Netflix)
Joe Locke and Kit Connor as Charlie Spring and Nick Nelson in Heartstopper (Netflix)

Based on Alice Oseman's comic books of the same name, Heartstopper is a moving coming-of-age story centred on the blossoming romance of Charlie Spring (Joe Locke) and Nick Nelson (Kit Connor).

The show's second season recently landed on Netflix, and the series is an incredibly faithful adaptation of Oseman's work (namely thanks to her hand in writing the scripts) as well as a joyful representation of the LGBTQ+ community that will have viewers laughing, crying and swooning in equal measure.

Heartstopper is a great example of a book adaptation done well, and certainly feels like an ideal follow-up to Red, White and Royal Blue.

Shadow and Bone

Jessie Mei Li as Alina Starkov in Shadow and Bone (Netflix)
Jessie Mei Li as Alina Starkov in Shadow and Bone (Netflix)

Leigh Bardugo's Grishaverse novels -which is comprised of one trilogy, two duologies and several spin-of books- have been wonderfully adapted for the small screen on Netflix.

The fantasy series tells the story of Alina Starkov (Jessie Mei Li), an orphan who discovers her powerful Grisha abilities and is thrown into a war that threatens the whole of Ravka.

Combining the Shadow and Bone trilogy and Six of Crows duology, the series proves that it is possible to bring a beloved book series to life onscreen with respect while also making new and interesting changes.

The actors are also so well cast that it feels like they walked out of the pages of Bardugo's books, which are often promoted on BookTok and Bookstagram (and rightly so).

Love, Simon

Prod DB © Ben Rothstein - 20th Century Fox - Fox 2000 Pictures - New Leaf Literary & Media - Temple Hill Entertainment - Twisted Media / DR LOVE, SIMO
Nick Robinson in Love, Simon (20th Century Fox)

Back on the rom-com train, another moving LGBTQ+ film that is perfect for fans of Red, White and Royal Blue is Love, Simon.

The coming-of-age film is based on Becky Albertalli's beloved novel Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda and it follows the sweet romance between Simon (Nick Robinson) and Abraham (Keiynan Lonsdale).

The Notebook

Ryan Gosling and Rachel McAdams in the film adaptation of Nicholas Sparks' <i>The Notebook</i> (New Line Cinema)
Ryan Gosling and Rachel McAdams in the film adaptation of Nicholas Sparks' The Notebook (New Line Cinema)

While not queer, The Notebook is a classic book adaptation that has rightly cemented itself as one of the best of the rom com genre.

Based on Nicholas Sparks novel of the same name, The Notebook stars Ryan Gosling and Rachel McAdams as Noah and Allison in a decades-spanning love story that will remain in viewers and readers hearts long after the credits roll.

Bridgerton

Bridgerton. (L to R) Simone Ashley as Kate Sharma, Jonathan Bailey as Anthony Bridgerton in episode 204 of Bridgerton. Cr. Liam Daniel/Netflix © 2022
Simone Ashley as Kate Sharma and Jonathan Bailey as Anthony Bridgerton in Bridgerton (Netflix)

Another more recent book adaptation that has since become a worldwide sensation is Bridgerton, the Regency era Netflix series that follows the romantic entanglements of members of the titular family.

Read more: Everything you need to know about Bridgerton season 3

Helmed by Shonda Rhimes, the Netflix series brings Julia Quinn's book franchise to life in interesting ways and has been innovative in its representation by casting actors of colour in title roles that were originally written as white characters.

The Princess Diaries

JULIE ANDREWS, ANNE HATHAWAY, THE PRINCESS DIARIES, 2001
JULIE ANDREWS, ANNE HATHAWAY, THE PRINCESS DIARIES, 2001

Another classic, The Princess Diaries is based on Meg Cabot's YA book of the same name and was the role that catapulted Anne Hathaway to fame when she starred as Mia Thermopolis.

The coming-of-age comedy sees Mia learn that she is secretly the heir to the throne of the fictional kingdom of Genovia, and her grandmother (played by Julie Andrews) comes into her life to help prepare her for the throne.

While not a typical rom-com, The Princess Diaries is a great example of a fun book to screen adaptation with a royal family at its centre like Red, White and Royal Blue.

Daisy Jones and the Six

Daisy Jones and The Six (Prime Video)
Daisy Jones and The Six (Prime Video)

One author who will often come up on BookTok and Bookstagram is Taylor Jenkins Reid, whose novels are often praised and recommended by readers on social media from The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo (which is in the process of being adapted) to Daisy Jones and the Six.

Daisy Jones and the Six was adapted by Prime Video and released earlier this year, the series stars Riley Keough and Sam Claflin and follows the rise and fall of a '70s rock band.

While the adaptation led to some fans of the original attesting that the book was better, it is an intriguing series with stellar performances that are sure to delight viewers.

Watch the trailer for Red, White and Royal Blue: