Beyoncé to Receive Innovator Award at 2024 iHeartRadio Music Awards

The 2024 iHeartRadio Music Awards will honor Beyoncé with the Innovator Award at the 2024 show on April 1. Ludacris is set to perform and host the show live from Dolby Theatre in Los Angeles.

Ludacris joins the previously announced performance lineup including Justin Timberlake, Green Day, TLC, Jelly Roll, Lainey Wilson, Tate McRae and more. The event will also feature a special musical tribute to the 2024 iHeartRadio Icon Award Recipient Cher.

More from Variety

“I’m looking forward to hosting the 2024 iHeartRadio Music Awards and sharing the stage with some of the best in music,” said Ludacris. “It will be an amazing night celebrating fan-favorite artists with special performances that fans won’t want to miss.”

Beyoncé will receive this award on the heels of the release of her upcoming “Cowboy Carter” album, slated for March 29. She also recently became the first Black woman to top the Hot Country Songs chart with one of two of the album’s first singles, “Texas Hold ‘Em.” It became the first song in music history to simultaneously chart across US Pop, Hot AC, AC, Country, Rhythmic, Hip Hop, R&B and Triple A radio formats.

iHeartRadio is also honoring “Beyoncé’s passion for philanthropy,” mainly her work with her BeyGOOD. The Foundation has helped communities with a wide range of issues from disaster relief and water and housing scarcity to supporting young entrepreneurs and career development.

Swift leads the nominees with nine nods at the 2024 iHeartRadio Music Awards including song of the year (“Cruel Summer”), pop song of the year (“Cruel Summer”) and artist of the year. Last year, she tied Harry Styles for the most nominations in eight categories, and ended up the most decorated musician of the night with six wins including song of the year for “Anti-Hero.”

Elsewhere, Jelly Roll, 21 Savage and SZA tie for eight nominations in respective categories, while Olivia Rodrigo comes behind with seven. The 12th annual award show, which celebrates the most-played artists and songs on iHeartRadio stations through 2023, will also introduce a collection of new categories spanning genres including pop artist of the year, K-pop artist of the year, best new artist (K-pop) and favorite debut album.

Fan voting will determine this year’s best lyrics, best music video, best fan army, social star award, favorite tour photographer, TikTok bop of the year, favorite on screen, favorite tour style and favorite debut album. Social voting will close on March 25 for all categories.

Executive producers for the iHeartRadio Music Awards are Joel Gallen, for Tenth Planet; and John Sykes, Tom Poleman and Bart Peters, for iHeartMedia. For breaking news and exclusive iHeartRadio Music Awards content, visit or follow the social buzz on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.

Best of Variety

Sign up for Variety’s Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.