Dua Lipa, Taylor Swift and Paloma Faith among winners at 2020 Attitude Awards

Lizzie Edmonds
·2-min read
<p>Paloma Faith</p> (Attitude Awards 2020)

Paloma Faith

(Attitude Awards 2020)

Dua Lipa, Taylor Swift and Paloma Faith were among the winners at the first ever virtual Attitude Awards.

Actors Luke Evans and Russell Tovey, writer and broadcaster Stephen Fry, musician Yungblud, presenter Michelle Visage and activist Munroe Bergdorf tonight scooped up honours at the ceremony, hosted on the magazine’s YouTube channel.

The Vamps, Yungblud, Faith, Rina Sawayama and Drag Race UK’s The Vivienne all performed at the two-hour ceremony, which was pre-recorded at the Roundhouse in Camden over six days earlier this year.

The ninth annual awards, which are sponsored by Virgin Atlantic and Jaguar, was hosted by comedian Tom Allen.

They are held to benefit the Attitude Magazine Foundation for LGBTQ causes, which has raised and distributed more than £250,000 since summer 2018.

The night saw short films by Celebrity Masterchef winner Riyadh Khalaf and TV’s Judge Rob Rinder, who visited the Food Chain and Curly’s Legacy respectively, both previous beneficiaries of the Foundation’s support.

Speaking to the Standard ahead of her win, 52-year-old Visage - who is perhaps best known for her role as a RuPaul’s Drag Race judge - said she was “so honoured” to pick up the Ally Award.

“It is so important to have awards like this,” she said. “The work of queer people is so often overlooked so it is essential for it to be recognised. I am very happy to help this community push to get what they deserve. I think the night will give people a break from reality and an opportunity to celebrate the possibilities ahead. No one will be able to watch the show without being inspired. You can’t watch it without laughter.”

<p>Cheryl at last year’s awards</p>Dave Benett/Getty Images

Cheryl at last year’s awards

Dave Benett/Getty Images

Darren Styles OBE, Publisher of Attitude magazine, said: “This has been the most extraordinary running of the Virgin Atlantic Attitude Awards, powered by Jaguar, where the more usual 650 guests in black tie at the Roundhouse have been replaced with a world audience in the digital, virtual space.

"14 amazing presenters, 14 great winners and 5 roof-raising live performances have resulted in a blockbuster show that – we hope – has uplifted the watching LGBTQ community. May our award winners inspire anyone, anywhere, of any age to embrace who they truly are, free to be the best that they can be.”

The full list of winners are:

Icon Award - Taylor Swift, presented by Todrick Hall

Culture Award - Russell Tovey, presented by Tracey Emin

Inspiration Award - Nikkie de Jager (aka NikkieTutorials), presented by Max Harwood

Ally Award - Michelle Visage, presented by RuPaul

Film Award - The Boys in the Band, presented by Layton Williams

Comedy Award - Rosie Jones, presented by Tom Allen

Honorary Gay Award - Paloma Faith, presented by The Vivienne

Community Award - NHS LGBTQ, presented by Dr Ranj Singh

Icon Award - Stephen Fry, presented by Simon Callow CBE

Breakthrough Award - Rina Sawayama, presented by MNEK

Music Award - Dua Lipa, presented by Mark Ronson

Gamechanger Award - Yungblud, presented by the Vamps

Hero Award - Munroe Bergdorf, presented by Edward Enninful OBE

Man of the Year - Luke Evans, presented by Darren Styles OBE