How John Tortorella won his second Jack Adams Award

Columbus Blue Jackets head coach John Tortorella stands behind his bench during the first period of an exhibition NHL hockey game against the Pittsburgh Penguins in Pittsburgh, Saturday, Oct. 8, 2016. (AP Photo/Gene J. Puskar)

John Tortorella led the Columbus Blue Jackets to their most-successful regular season in franchise history, and for that he is your winner of the 2017 Jack Adams Award.

The award is voted on by the NHL Broadcasters’ Association.

From the NHL:

Under Tortorella the Blue Jackets (50-24-8, 108 points) set franchise records for wins, points, home wins (28) and road points (51). The club posted a 32-point gain over 2015-16, jumping from 29th to 2nd in team defense (3.02 to 2.35 GA/G). The Blue Jackets reeled off 16 straight victories from Nov. 29 – Jan 3, the second-longest single-season winning streak in NHL history behind the Pittsburgh Penguins’ 17-game run in 1992-93. Tortorella claimed his second career Jack Adams Award, having won with the Tampa Bay Lightning in 2003-04. He becomes the first multiple winner of the trophy since Pat Burns won for the third time in 1997-98.

Here’s how the voting went:

Torts got some good competition with the turnaround in Toronto that Mike Babcock helped lead. But most years the Adams goes to the coach who guides his team to the biggest turnaround from year-to-year. The CBJs big 16-game winning streak earlier this season played a huge role in setting up their fourth-overall finish in the NHL.

The Blue Jackets head coach last won the award in 2004, the same year he helped the Tampa Bay Lightning to the franchise’s only Stanley Cup title.

– – – – – – –

Sean Leahy is the associate editor for Puck Daddy on Yahoo Sports. Have a tip? Email him at or follow him on Twitter!