Jude Law and Gambon to be honoured

Press Association21 November 2012

Jude Law and Sir Michael Gambon will be honoured at this year's Moet British Independent Film Awards, it has been announced.

Screen veteran Sir Michael will receive the Richard Harris Award, which recognises an actor's outstanding contribution to British film.

The award was set up in 2002 in honour of the late Irish actor.

Sir Michael stepped into his role as Hogwarts headmaster Dumbledore in the Harry Potter films after Richard died in 2002.

Jude Law will pick up the Variety Award which recognises an actor, director, writer or producer who has helped to focus the international spotlight on the UK.

Previous recipients have included Kenneth Branagh, Liam Neeson, Sir Michael Caine, Daniel Craig, Dame Helen Mirren and Richard Curtis.

Previous winners of the Richard Harris award have included John Hurt, David Thewlis, Bob Hoskins, Jim Broadbent, Daniel Day-Lewis, Helena Bonham Carter and most recently Ralph Fiennes.

The stars will receive their awards at a ceremony in London on December 9.

Capella can help you reach your potential

Choose from over 50 degree programs and 50 certificate programs built to help you achieve your academic goals. Apply today!

2016 Dodge Trucks

See what's new for Dodge for 2016! Search for dodge truck deals.

Borrow up to $1 Million for your Small Business!

Let LendingTree's online comparison tool get competing business loan offers for you within 24-48 hours. Submit Your Loan Request For Free.

Hilton HHonors™ Card

Apply Today! Earn 50,000 Hilton HHonors™ Bonus Points. Terms Apply.

Impressive Driving Range

Go the distance in America’s longest-lasting pickups with an impressive driving range and capability to spare.