‘The Last Of Us’: Catherine O’Hara Joins Season 2 Of HBO Series In Undisclosed Guest Role

Catherine O’Hara has joined the cast of The Last Of Us Season 2.

HBO is staying tight lipped about her casting for now, saying only that O’Hara will be guest starring in an “undisclosed role.”

More from Deadline

O’Hara is the first guest star to be announced after HBO made several major additions to the cast for the second installment of the post-apocalyptic drama based on the video game of the same name developed by Naughty Dog for PlayStation. HBO recently cast Kaitlyn Dever as Abby, Isabela Merced as Dina, and Young Mazino as Jesse.

The series has become somewhat of a guest star showcase, as Season 1 featured the likes of Nick Offerman, Storm Reid and Murray Bartlett among its guest stars. The first season dominated the guest acting categories at the 75th Emmy Awards with seven nominations. Reid and Offerman took home the trophies. Guest roles in The Last of Us Season 2 have become incredibly sought after, which is likely to result in some more big names joining the cast in the coming weeks.

As Deadline revealed in March, Season 2 will be filmed in Vancouver as a significant part of the story in The Last of Us Part II video game is set in the Pacific Northwest. Production on the series, a co-production between HBO and Sony Pictures Television, is slated to begin in February.

The Last of Us’ story takes place twenty years after modern civilization has been destroyed. Joel (Pedro Pascal), a hardened survivor, is hired to smuggle Ellie (Bella Ramsey), a 14-year-old girl, out of an oppressive quarantine zone. What starts as a small job soon becomes a brutal, heartbreaking journey, as they both must traverse the U.S. and depend on each other for survival.

The cast of Season 1, which was shot in Calgary, Alberta, also included Gabriel Luna as Tommy, Anna Torv as Tess, Nico Parker as Sarah, Murray Bartlett as Frank, Nick Offerman as Bill, Melanie Lynskey as Kathleen, Storm Reid as Riley, Merle Dandridge as Marlene, Jeffrey Pierce as Perry, Lamar Johnson as Henry, Keivonn Woodard as Sam, Graham Greene as Marlon, Elaine Miles as Florence, Ashley Johnson as Anna, and Troy Baker as James.

The Last of Us is written and executive produced by Craig Mazin and Neil Druckmann. The series is a co-production with Sony Pictures Television and is also executive produced by Carolyn Strauss, Jacqueline Lesko, Cecil O’Connor, Asad Qizilbash, Carter Swan, and Evan Wells. The series is produced by PlayStation Productions, Word Games, The Mighty Mint, and Naughty Dog.

O’Hara is repped by Brillstein Entertainment Partners and CAA.

Best of Deadline

Sign up for Deadline's Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.