Oscars 2013: Bond tribute a let-down

Dame Shirley Bassey sings Goldfinger, but no Bond actors show up for 50 year celebration.

The Oscars pay tribute to BondThe Oscars pay tribute to James Bond - marking it's 50th anniversary:

The Oscar’s much vaunted tribute to 50 years of Bond fizzled rather than sparkled - however, favourite Adele picked up the gong for 'Best Original Song' for 'Skyfall'.

[Related story: No Bonds for Oscars ceremony]

[Related story: Oscars 2013: Full list of winners]

Halle Berry, who starred in ‘Die Another Day’ was on hand to present a musical montage of various Bond clips. It featured the classic Bond theme and an instrumental version of "Live And Let Die."

It felt like a major letdown that the Academy couldn’t come up with a more fitting and imaginative tribute for the franchise.

Dame Shirley Bassey was given a standing ovation by the crowd as she sung her iconic theme tune ‘Goldfinger’.

Adel picks up Best Original Song at The 85th Academy Awards (Credit: Getty)

However, as was rumoured before the event, NONE of the James Bond stars turned up to honour the franchise.

There were hopes at one point that all six Bonds; Daniel Craig, Timothy Dalton, Pierce Brosnan, Roger Moore, Sean Connery and George Lazenby would unite on the stage.

However, Pierce Brosnan said before that he wouldn’t make the event, and it was left to 007 veteran, the 76-year-old Bassey, to help celebrate the spy series’ anniversary.

Later on in proceedings, Adele also sung her epic ‘Skyfall’ tune and went on to pick up a well-deserved Oscar for Best Original Song.

One award snaffled by 007 was for Best Sound Editing… sort of. Per Hallberg and Karen Baker Landers shared the Oscar with Paul N. J. Ottosson for ‘Zero Dark Thirty’. It was the first Oscar won by a Bond film since John Stears’ Best Effects nod for ‘Thunderball’ in 1965.

Bond has only received 12 Oscar nominations throughout the entire franchise.

‘Skyfall’ cinematographer Roger Deakins was snubbed for his superb cinematography, with 'Life Of Pi' cameraman Claudio Miranda winning instead.