Oscars: 50th Student Academy Awards Names 14 Winners

Out of nearly 2,500 entries, 14 students have been named winners of the 50th annual Student Academy Awards competition by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

The winners are (listed alphabetically by category):

More from Deadline

Leo Behrens, Skin, American Film Institute

Gabriel Augerai, Romain Augier & Yannick Jacquin, Boom, École des Nouvelles Images, France
César Luton, Achille Pasquier & Clémence Bailly, Diplomatie de L’Eclipse, MoPA 3D Animation School, France
Lisa Kenney, Mum’s Spaghetti, National Film and Television School, United Kingdom

Lyuwei Chen, Duet, New York University 
Jean Chapiro, Hasta Encontrarlos (Till We Found Them), Columbia University
Giorgio Ghiotto, Wings Of Dust, New York University

Mark Gerstorfer, Invisible Border, Filmakademie Wien, Austria
Iain Aigin Stronach Forbes, Revisted, Den Norske Filmskolen, Norway
Tamara Denić, Istina (Truth), Hamburg Media School, Germany

First-time honors go to École des Nouvelles Images (France).

All Student Academy Award-winning films are eligible to compete for 2023 Oscars in the Animated Short Film, Live Action Short Film or Documentary Short Film category. Past winners have gone on to receive 67 Oscar nominations and have won or shared 12 awards.

Students will participate in an in-person award ceremony free and open to the public (tickets must be requested in advance) at 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, October 24, at the Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills.  The medal placements – gold, silver and bronze – in the four award categories will be announced at the ceremony.

The Student Academy Awards were established in 1972 to provide a platform for emerging global talent by creating opportunities within the industry to showcase their work. This year, the competition received a total of 2,443 entries from 720 colleges and universities around the world. The 2023 winners join the ranks of such past Student Academy Award winners as Spike Lee, Robert Zemeckis, Pete Docter, Patricia Cardoso and Patricia Riggen.

Best of Deadline

Sign up for Deadline's Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Click here to read the full article.