Ovechkin, Pastrnak, MacKinnon, McDavid named NHL All-Star Game captains

Alexander Ovechkin, David Pastrnak, Nathan MacKinnon and Connor McDavid have all been named captains for the NHL All-Star Game. (Getty Images)

The National Hockey League has announced who will be representing each division as a captain for the 2020 NHL All-Star game.

Alexander Ovechkin (Metropolitan), David Pastrnak (Atlantic), Nathan MacKinnon (Central) and Connor McDavid (Pacific) will lead their respective divisions during the contest. The captains were selected through the league’s fan voting process.

Ovechkin has gotten off to another strong start this season. His 22 goals sit third on the NHL’s leaderboard and his 169 shots lead all players. His Washington Capitals are off to a fantastic start, leading the league with 55 points through its first 36 games.

Pastrnak has been scoring goals at a rapid rate in 2019-20. He has 28 goals in 36 games, topping all players in the category. His 13 power-play markers are the most in the NHL, and also tie him with the entire Ottawa Senators team. He is one of six players to have already reached the 50-point plateau this season.

In his seventh campaign, MacKinnon has taken his game to new heights. Despite playing most of this season without his talented linemates Mikko Rantanen and Gabriel Landeskog, the 24-year-old has been one of the league’s premier talents on a nightly basis. His 21 goals are tied for fourth-most in the NHL, and he’s third in league scoring with 53 points.

The premier talent in the league, McDavid has been everything you could expect and more to start this season. He leads the league with 39 assists and 59 points. He has also notched 20 goals, which ties him for eighth. The Edmonton Oilers are currently in a playoff position largely due to the play of himself and linemate Leon Draisaitl.

The 2020 NHL All-Star Game is January 25th, at the Enterprise Center, home of the defending Stanley Cup champion St. Louis Blues.

More NHL coverage on Yahoo Sports