‘Shayda,’ ‘The Royal Hotel’ Share Film Honors at Australia’s SPA Awards

“Shayda,” a breakout indie movie from Noora Niasari, and Kitty Green’s high-temperature drama “The Royal Hotel” were named best film winners at the annual SPA Awards, presented by the Screen Producers Australia association.

The ceremony took place Thursday at Queensland’s Gold Coast, during the annual Screen Forever conference. The event was hosted by actor and comedian Matt Okine.

More from Variety

Production company Werner Film, which this week announced its acquisition by the BBC, took three awards including the coveted Media Super Production Business of the year prize.

“It’s clear that our production community continues to thrive in the face of a rapidly changing landscape. Each winner exemplifies the creativity, innovation, and dedication that define our industry and showcase the vital role producers and production businesses play in sharing our unique stories and culture with audiences worldwide,” said SPA CEO Matthew Deaner.

The awards ceremony also saw Amy Parry named as the recipient of the A$20,000 Ones to Watch Screen Internship grant, supported by Screen Australia, and “Marungka Tjalatjunu” (aka “Dipped In Black”) awarded the annual SDIN Award.

2024 SPA Awards

Animated Production of the Year (joint winners)
“100% Wolf: Book of Hath” (ABC), Flying Bark Productions
“Beep and Mort” (ABC), Windmill Pictures

Children’s Series Production of the Year
“Crazy Fun Park” (ABC), Werner Film Productions

Comedy Program or Series Production of the Year (joint winners)
“Deadloch” (Amazon Prime Video), Guesswork Television and OK Great Productions
“In Limbo” (ABC), Bunya Productions and Heiress Films

Documentary Program or Series Production of the Year
“Ningaloo Nyinggulu” (ABC), Artemis Media and Matter of Factual

Drama Series Production of the Year
“The Newsreader S2” (ABC), Werner Film Productions

Entertainment Production of the Year
“Hard Quiz S9” (ABC), Thinkative Television

Feature Documentary Production of the Year
“Harley & Katya,” Stranger Than Fiction Films

Feature Film Production of the Year (joint winners)
“Shayda,” Origma 45
“The Royal Hotel,” See-Saw Films

Online Series Production of the Year
“Touch the Sky,” Nora & R.D. Productions

Reality Series Production of the Year
“The Great Australian Bake Off S7” (Foxtel Group), BBC Studios Australia

Short Film Production of the Year
“Jia,” Niu Studios and Toprock Productions

Telemovie or Miniseries Production of the Year
“The Clearing” (Disney+), Wooden Horse

Business Awards
Breakthrough Business of the Year

Wooden Horse

Media Super Production Business of the Year
Werner Film Productions

Services & Facilities Business of the Year
Princess Bento Studio

Screen Business Export Award
Goalpost Pictures

Individual Awards
Lifetime Achievement Award
Fiona Eagger and Deborah Cox, Every Cloud Productions

Best of Variety

Sign up for Variety’s Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.